Kenya, Philippines, Pakistan, Bangladesh Added to UK Travel Ban List

Addis Ababa, April 2, 2021 (Walta) – Kenya, Pakistan, the Philippines, and Bangladesh are being added to England’s “red list” to protect the country against new variants of coronavirus, the UK government says.

It means a travel ban on visitors from these countries will come into force next Friday (9 April).

British, Irish, and third-country nationals with residence rights arriving from these countries will be required to self-isolate in a government-approved hotel for 10 days.

The Department for Transport says the move follows new data showing an increased risk of importation of variants of concern.

Recently, Ethiopia, Oman, Somalia, and Qatar are added to England’s red list, according to BBC.